Traffic Violator School Info

A traffic violator school provides traffic safety courses for individuals ordered by the Court to complete traffic violator school as part of their sentence. These courses are provided in a variety of modes, including classroom instruction, Internet courses, and home study, and are offered in a variety of different language formats. All DMV-licensed traffic violator school courses must meet or exceed the requirements set forth in Title 13 § 345.30 of the California Code of Regulations.

Why take a traffic violator school course?

By successfully completing a DMV-licensed traffic violator school course, you can have one point on your driving record (resulting from a cited traffic violation) masked for insurance purposes. This may prevent an increase in your auto insurance premium, and in some cases, may prevent a suspension of your driving privileges.

Please note that you may NOT take traffic violator school to mask a point on your driving record if:

• You have requested or attended traffic violator school on a previous violation that occurred within the last 18 months;

• You were driving a commercial vehicle or carrying hazardous material when you were cited; or

• You were cited for a violation which carries a negligent operator point count of more than one point, such as: driving with a suspended license; failing to stop at an accident scene; speeding in excess of 100 miles per hour; reckless driving; and engaging in speed contests.

How to Find a Traffic Violator School

You may search for a DMV-Licensed Traffic Violator School through the DMV’s Occupational Licensing Status Information System (OLSIS).
Click here to access OLSIS and follow these steps:

01

On OLSIS, click “Start Search.”

02

Read the Legal Notice and Disclaimer. If you agree to the terms, select “I agree,” and then click “Access the System.”

03

Select “Traffic Violator School List” from the “Business Categories” drop-down menu, and then click “Continue.”

04

Read the information about traffic Violator school attendance, and then click “Get Traffic Violator School List.”

05

Select your preferred mode of education (Classroom, Internet, or Home Study) from the drop-down menu, and then click “Get Traffic Violator School List.”

06

Contact the school of your choice. Please note that the resulting list does not yield direct links to any of the schools’ websites.



PLEASE NOTE: OLSIS is an online service provided and maintained by the DMV. If you are unable to access OLSIS, or if you have any questions regarding OLSIS content, please contact the DMV at (916) 229-3154.

Contact us for assistance at (800) 555-4452 or via email at trafficschoolinfo@lacda.org

What You Need To Know

IMPORTANT: Any person(s) involved in the offering of, or the soliciting for, a completion certificate for traffic violator school in which the person receiving the certificate does not attend, or if a traffic violator school course is completed by someone other than the defendant, may be found guilty of violating Sections 132 and 134 of the Penal Code – both of which are felony violations.

Learn More

What You Need To Know

All DMV-licensed traffic violator schools are required to submit a student's course completion via the DMV's Traffic Violator Course Completion (TVCC) Database, for each student who successfully completes a traffic violator course. Pursuant to Section 11219.5 (a) of the California Vehicle Code, all DMV-licensed traffic violator schools are required to provide students with a traffic violator school receipt as proof of traffic violator school completion.

You can only mask one traffic violation through completing traffic violator school within an 18-month period.

It is your responsibility to ensure your certificate was processed by the Court. To check on the status of your traffic citation, you can use the online feature on the Los Angeles Superior Court’s LA ECourt service. Please note that it may take one to two weeks from the date of successful course completion for your traffic violator school completion to be reflected on your citation status.

If you are a driver with a class A, class B, or commercial class C driver license, and your violation was committed in a vehicle that requires the driver to have a commercial driver license, traffic violator school is prohibited. If you are a driver with a class A, class B, or commercial class C driver license, and your violation was committed in a vehicle that does not require the driver to have a commercial driver license, traffic violator school may be permitted.

However, please note that the completion of a traffic violator school course will only prevent a point from appearing on your driving record; the conviction itself will still appear on your driving record. For more information, please see Sections 1808.10 and 42005 of the California Vehicle Code. Once the Court has processed your completion certificate, you must call the DMV's Driver's Safety Unit at 916-657-6452 to notify them of your traffic violator school course completion. The DMV will ensure that your driving record is updated.

The $64 Administrative fee that was paid to the Court for traffic violator school does not include the cost of the traffic violator school course.

If you need additional time to complete traffic violator school, you may be eligible for a one-time 60-day extension. You may request an extension from the Court that referred you to traffic violator school or you may process an extension via the internet at www.lacourt.org

Pursuant to Section 11205 of the California Vehicle Code, the following traffic violator school list was taken directly from the DMV's OLSIS on the date indicated on the lower right-hand corner of each page. If any errors have been found on the list, please contact the DMV at 916-229-3154.

This website is maintained by Traffic Administration Services to provide consumers information regarding traffic violator school and instant access to listings of the California DMV-licensed traffic violator school courses.





Frequently Asked Questions

Who do I contact regarding a question/problem with a traffic citation?

Please contact the courthouse indicated on your citation.

Can I resolve my traffic violation through TAS?

No. You will need to resolve your traffic violation with the Court. You can resolve your traffic violation online through the Los Angeles Superior Court's website. Otherwise, please contact the courthouse indicated on your citation. For courthouse locations and contact information, please click here.

Can I sign up for traffic violator school through TAS?

No. You will need to make arrangements with the Court before you take traffic violator school. To find information for your assigned Court click here

Can I elect to take traffic violator school after I pay the bail amount on my citation?

It is strongly advised that you elect to take traffic violator school (and make the proper arrangements with the Court) at the time you pay your bail. Should you elect to take traffic violator school after you pay your bail, you will have to contact the courthouse indicated on your citation to make special arrangements. This process may involve paying additional fees, and you may also be required to appear in front of a Judge to request traffic violator school.

Can I do traffic violator school for more than one citation if I have multiple points on my record?

If you complete traffic violator school for an eligible citation, you will not be able to take traffic violator school for a subsequent citation within an 18-month period from the first violation date.

What do I do after I pay my citation and traffic violator school administrative fee?

You must complete traffic violator school by the due date provided to you by the courthouse. Please select a traffic violator school from the TAS Traffic Violator School List.

Is it necessary that the traffic violator school I choose be a DMV-licensed traffic violator school?

Yes. You must take a DMV-licensed traffic violator school in order for the Court to give you traffic school credit. It is your responsibility to ensure your citation is eligible for traffic violator school. Click here to locate a licensed traffic violator school.

Am I required to take a DMV-licensed traffic violator school located within the County of Los Angeles if I do not live in the County?

No. However, you must select a traffic violator school that is licensed by the California DMV. Please visit the DMV’s OLSIS website to find a classroom, Internet, or home study course available in your area.

Once I have taken a traffic violator school course, are there any additional steps I need to take in order to have my point removed from my driving record?

It is your responsibility to ensure your certificate was processed by the Court. To check on the status of your traffic citation, you can use the online feature on the Los Angeles Superior Court’s LA ECourt service. Please note that it may take one to two weeks from the date of successful course completion for your traffic violator school completion to be reflected on your citation status.

Who do I contact to report a problem with my classroom/home study traffic violator school?

Complaints regarding traffic violator schools should be forwarded directly to the DMV’s Occupational Licensing department. Click here to file a traffic violator school complaint with the DMV.

Who do I contact to request an extension to complete traffic violator school?

You may process an extension online by using the service on the Los Angeles Superior Court’s LA ECourt service or by calling the courthouse directly. Click here for the telephone numbers to the courthouses.

Who do I contact to challenge my traffic ticket?

Please contact the courthouse indicated on your citation. TAS does not have or offer any information on how to challenge traffic citations.